Free Childcare Offer Extended To Other Areas

Childcare Money News Parenting & Family Advice | by | 21st Jun 2018

Building blocks for free childcare article

More families in Wales will benefit from 30 hours of free childcare from September 2018 following a successful pilot in 7 local authorities over the last few months.

Working parents of children aged 3 and 4 in certain areas of Wales have been getting 30 hours of free childcare per week for 48 weeks a year. The Childcare Offer pilot was launched in September 2017 as part of the Taking Wales Forward plan. Eligible parents across the whole of Anglesey, Gwynedd, Caerphilly, Blaenau Gwent and Flintshire, and selected areas in Rhondda Cynon Taf and Swansea, have been a part of the pilot scheme.

What are the new areas?

From September 2018 the whole of Rhondda Cynon Taf, Torfaen and Ceredigion and selected areas of Cardiff, Newport, Neath Port Talbot, Conwy and Wrexham will join the other pilot areas, with Swansea continuing it’s rollout across the county so that the whole county is eligible from January 2019 (contact Swansea Family Information Service for exact details).

What are the exact areas?

For those counties not offering the free childcare across the whole of the county, these are the exact areas covered:


  • Grangetown
  • Butetown
  • Riverside
  • Adamsdown
  • Cathays
  • Plasnewydd
  • Caerau
  • Splott
  • Ely
  • Llanrumney


  • Rogerstone
  • Lliswerry
  • Malpas
  • St Julians
  • Stow Hill
  • Shaftsbury
  • Maesglas
  • Gaer

Neath Port Talbot:

  • Tai-Bach
  • Resolven
  • Baglan
  • Aberavon
  • Pontardawe
  • Blaengwrach
  • Onllwyn
  • Bryn-coch South
  • Glyncorrwg
  • Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen
  • Cymer
  • Lower Brynamman


  • Kinmel Bay
  • Towyn
  • Pensarn
  • Gele
  • Llanddulas
  • Trefriw
  • Betws y Coed;
  • Caerhun
  • Uwch Conwy
  • Llanfair TH
  • Pentrefoelas
  • Tudno
  • Mostyn
  • Gogarth
  • Llangernyw
  • Llansannan
  • Betws Yn Rhos
  • Eglwysbach
  • Gower
  • Crwst
  • Uwchaled
  • Pentre Mawr


  • Llay
  • Gwersyllt East and South
  • New Broughton
  • Gwersyllt North
  • Coedpoeth
  • Gwersyllt West
  • Ponciau
  • Gresford East and West
  • Rossett
  • Marford and Hoseley
  • Holt
  • Bronington
  • Overton
  • Brymbo

For further information on the Childcare Offer and eligibility read the Welsh Government’s Quick Summary Guide

For further information about what areas are covered, if you’re eligible and how to apply, contact your local Family Information Service.

Share this